Homestead Exemption Deadline TODAY

“The Florida homestead exemption and Save Our Homes assessment limitation help Florida homeowners save money on their property taxes. Benefits are also available to property owners with disabilities, senior citizens, veterans and active duty military service members, disabled first responders, and properties with specialized uses.

Taxable value of a home is reduced thru homestead exemptions to help the homeowner save money on property taxes. If your home is valued at $150,000 and you receive a $25,000 homestead exemption, your home will be taxed as if it is worth $125,000. In order to take advantage this benefit, you must submit an application by the deadline on March 1, 2019.”

How do I file a homestead exemption?

Visit the link below to locate instructions for your county. Some counties allow online filing while others require you to visit the property appraisers office. Click here to find your county instructions

http://floridarevenue.com/property/Pages/Taxpayers_Exemptions.aspx

Who qualifies for an exemption?

Anyone who owned a home on Jan. 1 and used it as a primary residence on that date is entitled homestead exemption.

Are other exemptions available?

If you qualify for the over-65 or disabled exemption, you are also entitled to a permanent, locked-in “ceiling” on the school property taxes on your home. In case of death, the over-65 or disabled homeowner’s exemption, but not the school tax ceiling, transfers to the surviving spouse, if the spouse is 55 years of age or older at the time of death and lives in and owns the home. The exemptions may be transferred to another property by using the former home’s tax “ceiling” calculation.

Do I have to apply each year?

No. If you had a homestead exemption on your home the previous year, you won’t need to reapply unless your chief appraiser requires it. However, if you have not received an exemption on your present home or if you have moved to a new home, you will need to file for an exemption the current year.

Is there a fee to file for the exemption?

There is no application fee; the service is provided free of charge. Beware of letters you may receive saying they will file for you for a fee.

What is the application deadline?

You are to file the completed application with all required documentation beginning Jan. 1 and no later than April 30 of the year for which you are requesting an exemption but if you. If you qualify for the age 65 or older or disabled persons exemption or the exemption for donated homesteads of partially disabled veterans, you are to apply for the exemption no later than the first anniversary of the date you qualify for the exemption.

In DUVAL county

“The deadline to timely file for a homestead exemption is March 1. Late filing is permitted through early September. (The deadline for late filing is set by Florida law and falls on the 25th day following the mailing of the Notices of Proposed Property Taxes which occurs in mid-August.)”

PAULA WYNN – REALTOR® at EXIT Real Estate Gallery (904) 502-9432. Paula services the entire northeast Florida area which consists of Jacksonville, Orange Park, Green Cove, Middleburg, Lake Asbury, Jacksonville Beaches, and surrounding areas. With Paula Wynn, your real estate transaction is always a win!
Advertisements